Wreck-it Ralph 2: Ralph Breaks the Internet Review

Wreck-it Ralph 2: Ralph Breaks the Internet Review

 

This is a review of Wreck-it Ralph 2: Ralph Breaks the Internet and there will be SPOILERS!!!!!!!!

 

 

I am a massive lover of the first Wreck-it Ralph film and have thought that it deserved more attention and applause than it received. So when I found out they were making a sequel I was very excited to see what kind of adventures they would be heading on as long, as it wasn’t that King Candy had returned and Ralph and Vanellope would once again have to defeat him. Luckily they were able to set out on a brand new adventure, and what an adventure it was. I mean, having to go to the internet to buy a steering wheel from eBay because your game is otherwise going to be unplugged is such a simple storyline and yet it works perfectly.

 

When you go to the internet, there are limitless possibilities of what you can do and I love that they used this opportunity to put in so many guest stars and easter eggs that I’m sure that even after 20 viewings I still won’t have seen them all. One of the added details that I noticed was when Ralph was in the rubbish pit, just before he sees his insecure self, in the background is an old and decrepit sign for dial up internet which obviously isn’t a thing anymore. This was just one little addition, but I’m sure there are so many more. The guest stars are much easier to see. For example some of the guest stars that I noticed were Groot, Ralph as Bob Ross, C3-PO, R2-D2, Stormtroopers, Grumpy from Snow White, Baymax, Colleen/Miranda Sings and so many more. On the subject of cameos, let’s talk about the princesses, the bit that I was most excited about and most nervous about going into the movie. I didn’t want them taking over but I also didn’t want to leave the cinema wishing I had seen more of them. I think Disney found the perfect balance. Each Princess, except maybe Merida, got an equal amount of screen time, stayed true to their characters individual personality and collectively they made a great addition to the film.

wir princesses

One thing that I am surprised about is how many mature subjects they covered in the film. For example, the subject of friendship and how hard it can be to maintain a friendship when people change and grow. At the end of the film I thought that it would be crazy for Vanellope to leave her game, leave the arcade and most importantly, leave Ralph, but she does it, she follows her dream. This is a really great example of Disney ending their films not in the way you would expect which is becoming a running theme, for example the surprise villains in Frozen, Big Hero 6 and Zootopia. It would have been so easy for Vanellope to return to her game, but she left and it sends a good message to follow your dream.

 

Another theme of the film is overcoming your insecurities and Ralph definitely does this in the film Putting a characters flaws out there, so vividly like they did in this film was wonderful. I think it’s good when films, especially Disney films that are seen by so many people and especially young people that they send the right message without being too preachy and they got it right this time.

 

One of the few new characters in the film is Shank who I wasn’t that excited to see based on the trailers, but in the film I think she is a really strong female character which this franchise is great at doing. If I was going to add any more to film I would like more of a back-story or insight into the life of Shank and her game.

shank

Overall I loved the film, I think it was a worthwhile story to tell, I wouldn’t go as far as saying it was as good as the first film, but I would still recommend watching it.