Spider-man: Far From Home Review

Spider-man: Far From Home Review

Spoiler Review

Spider-man: Far From Home was a really fun film to watch, it was funny, easy to understand and a great way to lose yourself for a couple of hours. This doesn’t mean it was a perfect film, as well as being funny it was also a little bit silly, the stakes in this film wasn’t high and continuity throughout the film wasn’t consistent. What I’m specifically referring to is the fact that Peter finds himself in many situations where he has to use his superhero skills to protect his friends and at the same time not being noticed by them. Marvel have blurred the lines regarding what Peter would be able to get away with and what would cause him to get caught. The scene on the bus where Peter has to call off the almost assassination of his classmate as he jumps out of the top of the bus was just too farfetched. It feels like the filmmakers aren’t taking the film seriously.

Mysterios overall look is personally my favourite of all the superheroes.  I love how different he looks, a lot of superhero outfits seem to be a copy of each other, but Mysterio seems to step outside of the box. It helps that Jake Gyllenhaal, the actor who plays Mysterio, looks so good as both a hero and a villain in the outfit. He reminded me a lot of Screensaver, the villain from The Incredibles in the sense that the public is being drawn into something that isn’t real. The whole storyline of Mysterio, with the help of  lot of other oppressed people, fooling the world with a hologram and drones is something that I could never of predicted so I liked that nice twist. However Marvel made the mistake in making him a little too powerful. He could trick Peter into seeing whatever he wanted him to see for such a large part of the movie and then suddenly Peter gets his ‘Peter tingle’ and can suddenly distinguish between reality and fiction? Nope that’s just a little too convenient and for the fact that Mysterio just stopped using reality distortion for apparently no reason seems ridiculous to me.

Mysterio, and the false personality he created about being from another dimension and having to fight the Elementals was a really interesting idea and I so wanted it to be true, not only because the possibility of other dimensions means a massive shift in the Marvel world, but also because Mysterio himself could have been the father figure that Peter is now missing in his fact due to the fact that Tony Stark has gone. Tony’s passing didn’t affect me until I saw this film and an Iron Man shaped hole was left in my heart. Sadly Mysterio is gone and  now we’re left with this new band of human villains who are all working together. They seem to be the anti-Iron Man. As we know that they have this drone and hologram technology, it just means that moving forward, we need to be vigilant and not always trust what we see on first looks.

I think that Marvel films are some of the best films, they are enjoyable and entertaining, but, I don’t enjoy prolonged fight scenes when you know what the outcome is going to be, for me it just drags them out. Yes it’s impressive to see the CGI but there were so many fights in this film and it was all getting a bit repetitive.

It would be a shame to compare all future Marvel films to Infinity War and Endgame so I’m not going to do that, but what I will say is this: Infinity War and Endgame were a phenomenon, they were two films that were delivered to us after 20+ films had been released, nothing like that is ever going to happen again, at least not for a very long time. The stakes in those two films were possibly the highest they ever would be, they had some of the top filmmakers in the world working on them so they were going to be amazing. So ignoring Infinity War and Endgame, what would I rank this film? As I’ve already said I have enjoyed it, it was amusing, action packed, a little bit too long, at times repetitive but sets the stage for the next phase in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I’m going to give it a 3.5 out of 5. Let me know in the comments bellow what rating you would give the film.

I saw the post credit scene just over 24hours ago and when I saw the scenes I thought it was an intense and a suspenseful ending, however after some time I realise it was pretty anticlimactic. Having Peter’s identity revealed doesn’t really change anything, yeah it’s pretty annoying but he was never going to keep the secret forever and having Peter be blamed for the destruction of those cities really isn’t going to be a problem. Iron Man annoyed a lot of people but everyone still loved him, it’s going to be the same for Peter. What I did like about this scene was the Daily Bugle was the news site to reveal Peter to the world. The Daily Bugle is the news site that is introduced in the comics.

Also Nick Fury and Maria Hill being Skrulls…meh! We know they’re good people so what does it matter? I guess we’ll find out in the next film…which is an untitled Marvel film coming May 2020.