Hole in the Wand Mini Golf Review

Hole in the Wand Mini Golf Review

In 2021 I headed to York and I booked to experience the Jorvik Viking experience and when I was stood in line waiting to get into the attraction I looked across the road and saw a Harry Potter themed mini golf and I knew I would need to return to try it out. Fast forward almost 22 months later and I finally booked to go back to York to experience “Hole in the Wand” mini golf and this is my experience!

 There are 9 holes and it costs £8.29 for each adult and £7 for each child participating. However children under 3 are not allowed to take part. Included  in your price is a magical creature themed drink. The drink that you get will depend on how many points you get.

Before you are given your wand (your club) and your dragon egg (your ball) you have your photo taken in front of a magical background and at the end of the mini golf experience you can purchase your picture in a keyring, a magnet or just the picture itself. I purchased the magnet and it was really good quality and a nice memento of the experience.  

The first hole was my least favourite, really disappointing and a little frustrating. There is a giant table which is set up with tankards and you have to pick which tankard you drop your dragon egg into. My partner went first and the tankard that he choose caused his dragon egg to fall outside of the course meaning that it was a waste of a shot. You are only allowed 6 goes before you have to move on, meaning that every shot counts. Then when you’ve got your dragon egg down the correct tankard and into the course, the hole is at the top of a bump where there is a guard on one side so you can only get the dragon egg into the hole from one side so if you hit your egg to the wrong side you have to have a minimum of two shots to get it into a hole. Taking into account the fact that you only get a maximum of six tries for any hole, it was a really horrid way to start the course. It just felt unnecessarily hard to start the course of. However I have nothing negative to say about the rest of the course.

The theming is the standout, best part of  the mini golf. For one course you have to shoot your egg into an upturned cauldron that’s spewing out a potion. For another course you’re in a greenhouse, for another course you’re in a painting and so on. Each course is really unique. You really cannot fault them for the set decoration. I loved looking at all the oddities around the place.  

Overall I do think that it was expensive for what it was and only having  6 chances to get the shot is too little,  the maximum should be 10. You can tell it’s a business and they’re really prioritising getting people in and out rather than people having a good time. However I will say that we didn’t have anyone behind us rushing us along. I don’t think I will ever go back to have another go, which is the only mini golf I would say that about, but I am glad I’ve done it now.

If you are a Harry Potter fan then while you’re in York you should visit “The Shop that Must Not be Named” which is a Harry Potter and Wizarding World themed shop. It sells the same merchandise you can get at any other Harry Potter selling merchandise place, however it’s a fun shop and it’ located on Shambles street which helped to inspire the look of Diagon Alley in the films.